Pepper-Crusted, Pan-Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

 

This is my go-to recipe when I need something healthy, fast, and easy! I don’t even remember where I came across this recipe…….I honestly think I read a bunch of ahi-tuna recipes and just got ideas from reviews from other cooks. So I’ll just explain how I make it. My husband and I both really like this recipe, and we have made it for relatives and friends who have also enjoyed it!

As you can see, I sometimes make it with roasted asparagus, but we’ve also had it with steamed veggies, a salad, or even sauteed Brussels sprouts.

I was a bit concerned about serving it as what I would call “under-cooked,”  but I have found from past experience if you cook it longer than this recipe recommends it will just end up dry. Don’t worry if it is dark pink in the center….it will taste great!

Pan -Seared, Pepper-Crusted Ahi Tuna Steaks with steamed green beans. Tasty and fast!

A post shared by @dishondinnerbloginsta on

These really have a nice, meaty flavor!

Here’s how I make it:

Instructions:

Ingredients:

-1 package for frozen ahi tuna steaks (I’m sure fresh is better….but I use what I can get) (The brand I buy is probably somewhere around a pound. 4 or 5 steaks)

-butter (somewhere around 2-3 tablespoons….I don’t really measure)

-salt

-pepper

-paprika

First, pat the steaks dry with a paper towel. Then sprinkle one side with salt, pepper, and paprika. I don’t measure, just liberally sprinkle all over the side of the steak. Then press down with fork to ensure the seasonings stay on.

Melt the butter in a non-stick pan. Once butter is melted, place steaks in seasoned side down and sear for 2-3 minutes. Don’t over cook though…. While the steaks cook on that side, season the top side with salt, pepper, and paprika, like you did the other side. Flip the steaks and cook for 2-3 minutes on that side. Again, don’t overcook. You want this to be served what I would call pretty close to rare, or even rare.

Don’t worry if the center of these are quite pink. That is how you want it and they will taste great!  🙂

I hope you enjoy these as much as we do!! In fact, we’re having these for dinner tomorrow!  🙂

Leave a Reply

