Lemon and Herb Buttered Tilapia

Here is another quick, tasty, and healthy recipe that we rely on fairly often. The flavor is great, and it can be tossed together in no  time! You can change the taste up by changing the herbs you put in the butter.

I found this recipe in one of my Taste of Home cookbooks. Here is the link to that recipe. I generally follow it at least to some degree. In the instructions, I included some variations we have enjoyed.

http://www.cookinglight.com/food/quick-healthy/five-ingredient-seafood-recipes/view-all

Above, I served this with roasted broccoli and cauliflower, but it really quite tasty with many different side dishes. We’ve had this with roasted asparagus, steamed veggies, salad…really any side you like.

Lemon Tilapia with herbed butter and roasted asparagus…. #spring #itswhatsfordinner #ilovetocook #ilovefood

A post shared by Tara Kruse Sherwood (@tksherwood) on

Lemon and herb baked tilapia with roasted cauliflower…. Fast and tasty!! #itswhatsfordinner #ilovetoeat #ilovetocook

A post shared by Tara Kruse Sherwood (@tksherwood) on

This fish recipe really does not disappoint! Between the melted butter, the light flavored fillets, and the paprika, this dish tastes much more complex than it really is. I love recipes like this.

Here’s how I make it:

Instructions:

Ingredients:

-4 or 5 frozen tilapia fillets (thawed before cooking…which can be done quickly by placing in water in the sink for 20 minutes or so…)

-butter

-dried herbs (many times I just use parsley)

-lemon slices

-salt

-pepper

-paprika

Pre-heat the oven to 425 degrees. Cut the lemons into slices and place them into a baking dish that has been sprayed with non-stick spray.

Sprinkle salt, pepper, and paprika on the fillets. Place them on top of the lemon slices in the baking dish.

Bake in oven for 12-17 minutes, or until flaky with a fork. I hate to give an exact time because ovens vary, but you want to make sure it is flaky but not over-cooked.

While the fish bakes, melt butter in the microwave. The amount will depend on how many fillets you are cooking. For 4 or 5 fillets I usually melt around 3ish tablespoons. Once it is melted, sprinkle in whatever herbs you like. I usually do parsley. Place this into the freezer for the remaining cook time of the fish.

Once the fillets are flaky with a fork, remove from oven and place the “frozen” herb butter on the fillets. If you don’t want the butter to run to other foods on your plate, do this while the fillets are still in the baking dish. If you don’t mind the butter coming in contact with your side dishes just put the butter on the fillets once you have it on your plate.

I have done some variations of this recipe. One we liked was a Southwestern Tilapia. Instead of lemons, I used limes as my base. In addition to sprinkling the fillets with salt, pepper, and paprika, I also included some cumin. With this recipe, I think diced cilantro would have been good in the butter, but my husband is not a fan, so I just did parsley like normal.

I hope you enjoy this fish recipe as much as we do! It is a recipe I often turn to when we are pressed for time but still want a home cooked meal.

Leave a Reply

