Bacon, Tomato, and Asparagus Pasta with White Wine Sauce

We try not to eat pasta all that often, but this is one of our new favorites when we are craving a fast and tasty pasta dish! It also tastes great re-heated the next day for lunch! I’m sure you could add in or substitute any of the veggies for whatever you like or have on hand.

I modified this recipe based on one I found on one of my favorite recipe websites. Here is a link directly to that sight!  I have made many recipes from this site and we have enjoyed them!  GimmeSomeOven 5-Ingredient Bacon and Asparagus Pasta

Doesn’t that just look tasty!! I love that this recipe uses simple ingredients, comes together quickly, but then tastes like something that was much more complicated. The tastes just all really compliment each other very well.

SO, HERE’S HOW I MADE IT:

Ingredients:

–pasta (I used about half of a 16 oz package of linguine, as the original recipe suggested)

–bacon chopped into small pieces  (original recipe called for about 8 strips, I only had 5….so that’s all I used)

–fresh asparagus cut into small pieces (I didn’t really measure the amount, just used about half of the bunch)

–1 cup dry white wine (I just used “cooking” white wine….nothing fancy)  🙂

–canned tomatoes with garlic, basil, and onion (I drained them and used about 1 cup)

–small slices of red onion (I used about 3/4 cup)

–Parmesan cheese

Instructions

Cook the bacon in a large skillet until it is crispy.  Remove the bacon with a slotted spoon (you want to leave as much of the bacon grease as you can).

Cook the pasta according to package directions.

Cook the asparagus and onions in the bacon grease for about 5ish minutes. Remove with a slotted spoon, again leaving as much bacon grease as you can. Set the veggies off to the side with the bacon.

Now add the wine slowly to the, scraping the pan bottom to get the bits. Cook for about 5 minutes or so.

With a few minutes left for the cooking pasta, add the tomatoes to the pasta and water. Make sure to put it in with enough time to warm the tomatoes through.

When the pasta is ready, drain and mix all of the ingredients back in the skillet with the wine sauce. Mix well and sprinkle with the cheese.

We hope you enjoy it as much as we did!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

