Sesame Chicken with Broccoli

So, we love to eat at Chinese buffet style restaurants, but I know they are not so healthy. This dish is great for an evening when you are craving that style of food.

This was a recipe I modified. It is an Ellie Krieger recipe from one of her books that I have. Here is a link to the book: Ellie Krieger “Comfort Food Fix” Amazon.com

I am sure this recipe is amazing cooked just as it is in the cookbook, I just made a few changes based on what I had on hand.

Here’s what my serving looked like. It tasted as good as it looks!  🙂

Sesame Chicken with Broccoli…..it was tasty! And pretty healthy too! #ilovetoeat #ilovetocook #elliekriegerrecipe

A post shared by Tara Kruse Sherwood (@tksherwood) on

I mentioned that I made a few changes, and I’m sure you could make other modifications if you didn’t have one or more of the ingredients.

I also need to mention that this ended up leaving a pretty big mess in one of my skillets. Enough that I cooked my second batch of chicken and my veggies in a different skillet. My guess is I didn’t drain the marinade off the chicken quite thoroughly enough and the honey stuck to my skillet. I drained it, but make a note when you read “drain the marinade from the chicken” in the instructions below, make sure to REALLY drain it. This issue had no impact on the taste or quality of the meal…..just left a mess. Luckily the dishwasher took care of that…  🙂

Here’s how I made it:

INGREDIENTS:

-2 pounds of boneless, skinless chicken thighs cut into 1 inch chunks  (the original recipe calls for 1 and 1/2 pounds of chicken breast–we like thighs better…and they are cheaper! )

-5 tablespoons of reduced sodium soy sauce (divided)

-4 teaspoons sesame oil (divided)

-5 teaspoons honey (divided)

-olive oil (original recipe called for canola…I had olive)

-green onions (recipe called for 2, I think I used 4….we like onion.)  These need to be chopped and the greens should be separate

-ground ginger (I used McCormick and the recipe called for fresh….)

-3 minced garlic cloves (my guess is the recipe meant for it to be fresh…mine came from a jar)

-1 and 1/2 cups of reduced sodium chicken broth

-4 teaspoons cornstarch

-1 tablespoon rice vinegar

-1 teaspoon chili paste (I used roasted red chili paste from a jar)

-1 small head of broccoli cut into florets and steamed for about 4-5 minutes

-sesame seeds (recipe called for toasting them….I did not)

Pre-heat your oven to a “keep warm” or really low setting.

In a bowl large enough to marinate all of your chicken chunks, whisk together 3 tablespoons of soy sauce, 2 teaspoons of sesame oil, and 2 teaspoons of honey. Marinate the chicken chunks for about 20 minutes. While the chicken marinates you can cut up your onion and broccoli.

Using a slotted spoon, remove the chicken from the marinade. Remember, as I mentioned above….DRAIN WELL. I think this is why I ended up with a bit of a mess…. again, it didn’t impact the flavor or quality of the meal….

Heat about 2 teaspoons (ish….I don’t usually measure oil when I use it to stir-fry) of olive oil in a large nonstick skillet or wok over med-high heat. Add about half the chicken and cook until chicken is thoroughly cooked…turning a few times. Place the cooked chicken in a dish in the oven to keep warm.

Repeat the above process on the remaining chicken chunks. When they are cooked place them in the oven with the previously cooked chicken. Remember, as I mentioned above…. After cooking the 1st batch of chicken I had to grab a clean skillet for the rest of the recipe…hopefully you won’t need to because you’ll have learned from my mistake.  🙂

Heat about 2 teaspoons (again…ish) of olive oil over med-high heat and add the white part of the chopped green onions, the garlic, and a light sprinkling of the ground ginger. Cook, stirring, until you can smell it…. I think I cooked it for about 1 minute.

At this point it would be a good idea to start the boiling water for your steamed broccoli. Once your water is boiling, add the steam basket with the broccoli, put the lid on, turn heat down to med and steam for about 4-5 minutes. Don’t over cook it…

In a bowl, whisk together the chicken broth, 2 tablespoons of soy sauce, 3 teaspoons honey, the cornstarch, the vinegar, and the chili paste. Blend it until the cornstarch and the honey are dissolved. Add the mixture to the pan with your onions and garlic. Cook, stirring pretty continuously, until the mixtures gets darker and thicker….probably around 2-3 minutes. At the end of that time, add in a little bit more sesame oil (1-2 teaspoons probably).

Pour the sauce over the chicken and serve with your steamed broccoli. We topped ours with sesame seeds and the greens of the green onion.

We really thought this tasted good….and I’m sure many other veggies would be a tasty addition to this recipe! Now that I’m re-thinking it….I wish I would have added crushed red pepper to mine before eating it. Next time I will!

Hope you enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

