Frittata

 

I am not a huge breakfast person….seems like you always end up eating the same kind of foods. Boring. BUT, I do LOVE making a frittata!  It seems kind of fancy and difficult when the reality is that it is MUCH easier than omelets! I also love that I can literally toss in whatever I may need used up out of the fridge and/or pantry!

I don’t actually even know where I found this recipe to start out with….so I’ll just give you the method I use to make it.

Spinach and tomato frittata to get us up and going this morning! #sherwoodfarmok #farmfresheggs

A post shared by Tara Kruse Sherwood (@tksherwood) on

In the frittata above,  I followed the basic frittata recipe (that you’ll find below), but right before baking I added canned (drained) diced tomatoes with garlic, basil, and oregano, baby spinach leaves, and I believe some sliced onion…although I can’t see it in the pic.

What I really LOVE about this dish is you can make it whatever you want it to be! I’ve added mushrooms, bell pepper, green onions, tomatoes (fresh or canned), asparagus (roasted and left over), cooked crumbled bacon, cooked sausage,……the list could go on and on and on.

Veggie fritatta and hot tea!! Ah…Saturday morning… 🙂

A post shared by Tara Kruse Sherwood (@tksherwood) on

The above frittata has diced tomatoes, bell pepper slices, and red onion slices. I tend to make meatless frittatas, as they are a  bit healthier, but the ones with cooked bacon are quite tasty.

I’ve even done a version where I added rotel-style diced tomatoes with green chiles and black beans for a tex-mex inspired version of this breakfast treat. I would have added jalapenos, but my husband doesn’t appreciate that much heat.

I think you’re getting the idea….you can literally add anything you might like in an omelet or breakfast casserole. A good friend of mine added left over roasted broccoli and it was great!

One more pic….then some instructions:

Veggie frittata for brunch at home…. Ah Sunday mornings….. ☺☺ #brunch #sherwoodfarmok

A post shared by Tara Kruse Sherwood (@tksherwood) on

Here I served it with bacon, but it really is a hearty, filling meal on it’s own. My husband just really likes bacon…..  🙂

Here’s how I make it: Instructions for a 13 by 9 pan

Ingredients:

-eggs (I don’t put a set amount here because it depends on the size. I use our eggs from the farm and they tend to be small. Sometimes I use 14. If you are using store-bought large eggs 9-12 would probably work.) By the way, this recipe can serve 4 with possible leftovers… Depends on how hungry your guests are.  🙂

-cheese (I would say I use around a cup and a half….give or take a little) I’m also not telling you a kind, because I think that depends on what veggies, meats, etc that you plan to add. For veggies I usually use mozzarella, but if it is a tex-mex frittata I’ll use a mexican inspired cheese…you get the idea. It’s cheese, can you go wrong?  🙂

-pepper

-various assortment of veggies/meat (see above)

Pre-heat your oven to 350. Spray a 13 by 9 pan with spray. I use a glass plan, not a metal pan (I suppose that could impact cooking time.) While the oven heats, chop up any fresh veggies being used, or cook any meats being used, or drain canned tomatoes that you are using….basically get all of your “toppings” ready.

In a large bowl, mix all of your eggs until the whites and yolks are blended well. I’ve found this is easier to do if I add them just a couple at a time.

Sprinkle in some pepper (and garlic salt if you like garlic…)

Add in about 1 cup (ish) of cheese to the eggs. Mix well. Pour into your greased baking dish. Add more cheese if you’d like.  🙂

Now, this is the point in the recipe where you add in all the yummy things. Just space out your “toppings” evenly throughout the cheese and egg mixture. Sprinkle with a bit more cheese and pop it into the oven.

Bake for about 30 minutes. A toothpick should come out pretty clean when the frittata is ready to come out.

Let it cool a little and then enjoy!

I’ve used this recipe countless times and it never fails. Company seem to think you went to a lot of trouble, but really you didn’t (especially if all the veggies were chopped ahead of time!)

My personal favorite frittata is one where I use mozzarella cheese, italian flavored diced tomatoes, red onion, bell pepper, and garlic salt. But play around with it, see what you like.

Hope you love it!

2 thoughts on “Frittata

Leave a Reply

